Listen to Jeff Tweedy’s cover of Neil Young’s “The Old Country Waltz”


Jeff Tweedy shared a cover of “The Old Country Waltz” by Neil Young – you can listen to it below.

Wilco’s frontman’s new take on the 1977 song will appear on an upcoming deluxe edition of his 2020 album, “Love Is The King”. Set for a December 10 release via dBpm Records, the collection includes live versions of tracks from the original disc.

You can pre-order ‘Love Is The King / Live Is The King’ from here, with Tweedy’s rendition of ‘The Old Country Waltz’ available for instant download.

An official video of the performance is also available on YouTube. The live backing band featured in the clip will perform with Tweedy at their upcoming concerts in Chicago, Los Angeles and San Francisco, which will take place between December and January (some concerts will be solo).

Tickets go on general sale here at 10 a.m. local time this Friday (October 22). The official Tweedy site allows fans to “request a song” to perform at the concert of their choice.

The full tracklist for “Live Is The King” is as follows:

01. ‘Love is the king’ (Live)

02. ‘Opaline’ (Live)
03. “A robin or a troglodyte” (Live)
04. ‘Gwendolyn’ (Live)
05. ‘Bad day lately’ (Live)
06. ‘Even I can see’ (Live)
07. “Natural disaster” (Live)
08. “Save him for me” (Live)
09. ‘Guess Again’ (Live)
10. “Trouble” (Live)
11. “Half asleep” (Live)
12. “The waltz of the old country” (Live)

Last week Jeff Tweedy released two new songs for the Sub Pop Singles Club series, ‘C’mon America’ and ‘UR-60 Unsent’.

Wilco, meanwhile, hit the road for his COVID-delayed U.S. tour in August. The long streak of dates is set to end in Los Angeles on October 26.


Leave A Reply